Another Module Complete

With the end of the year approaching, there’s naturally going to be more completing of modules, which is frightening. Yesterday, we finished our Critical Theory Module. This is a module I haven’t mentioned on here but as it was a module based on art history, I didn’t think it was interesting enough for it to be on the blog. For this module we were required to do a presentation (grade for this was 69% or 2:1) and a 2800 word essay. My chosen topic was ‘Can Conceptual Art be Considered a Major Turning Point in Art?’. Looking into Artists such as Marcel Duchamp, Piero Manzoni and Martin Creed, I was able to discuss in which ways Conceptual Art was a major turning point in art. Conceptual Art saw the rise of Feminism which played a large part in the movement, and feminism art is one of the most popular art around now. Another aspect is the use of wordplay. this is favourited in works by contemporary artist On kawara. His Time pieces being my favourite.

This is the first time I have actually enjoyed writing an essay, and found myself almost going over the maximum word count. I hope this is reflected in the essay and it is also reflected in the grade I get for it.

Fiona.

Leave a Reply

