Hello

Welcome all to my brand new blog. My name is Fiona and I am a 3rd year BA hons Fine Art student at University of Chester. This blog is here to follow my journey throughout my final year at Chester and will enable you to join me. I will be posting about my work in university; my modules. (Studio Practice, Negotiated Practice and Professional Practice.) our Degree Show (which I am ridiculously excited about!) and my own commissions.

The commissions is something that is very different from my university work. It is something that is still quite new for me, so on a personal level, it’ll be interesting to see where it will be at the end of the year, compared to now.

In my free time, for about 5 years now I have been doing watercolour paintings. I started doing them for presents for my parents (no.1 fans right there). Whilst creating them, I would put them up on my private Instagram, and began to notice they were getting a few likes. It took a while, but I finally set up an art account too. Meanwhile I was getting small commissions from family friends that were very well received. Up until this summer, that is all it has been.

This summer however; I finally got myself a website (which took a lot, as I did not think anybody would be interested in my art works) which so far has only given my one sale, but it is still new, so I have a lot of faith in it.

On another note, I have been selling works in a local store, Gill’s, Llanfairfechan. Within the first week 6 pieces had been sold, which I was delighted with. I have had other local shops interested in my work which is brilliant, as this is the motivation that I need.

So the commissions is a journey of getting my work recognised and out there. The ups and the downs. Subsequently, I wanted to set up a blog for them anyway and considering the blog was mandatory to pass this year, I felt it was the best opportunity.

My apologies for the long windedness. However, now that you are up to date, I am sure it’ll be easier to follow my journey. so, enjoy!

Fiona

Leave a Reply

